CHUBBY | Vol 4


vol 4

Label: Chubby
Cat No: CHUB004


12" compilation deepness double electronic house


A1. ALEQS NOTAL | Planet Insanity
A2. ALEQS NOTAL | Planet Insanity *Life Recorder Rmx*
B1. JOSE RICO | Agonias
B2. JOSE RICO | Agonias *Leonid Rmx*
C1. EWAN JANSEN | Basilica
C2. EWAN JANSEN | Basilica *Nail Rmx*
D1. DAVID SWATTEN | Wave Energy
D2. DAVID SWATTEN | Wave Energy *John Beltran Rmx*



Since launching in 2018, Aaron Andrew's Chubby label has become a trusted - if frustratingly irregular - source of high-quality deep house. Their latest missive, the Aussie imprint's first release since the autumn, is their most expansive yet, with four fresh cuts (each with an accompanying remix) stretched across two slabs of wax. Aleqs Notal goes ultra-deep on immersive and hypnotic opener 'Planetary Insanity', which is subsequently given an equally spacey revision courtesy of Life Recorder. Cheerier and breezier deep house warmth comes courtesy of Jose Rico's 'Agonias' and Leonids slightly darker revision, while Nail's squelchy, early morning take on Ewan Jansen's bubbly 'Basillica' is one of the EP's standout moments. Arguably best of all though is John Beltran's gorgeous revision of David Swatten's brilliantly bittersweet 'Wave Energy'.