DJ QUIK | Safe And Sound


safe and sound

Label: Be With


12" double g-funk gangsta rap hip-hop reissue


A1. Street Level Entrance
A2. Get At Me
A3. Diggin' U Out
A4. Safe + Sound
B1. Somethin' 4 Tha Mood
B2. Don't You Eat It!
B3. Can I Eat It?
B4. It'z Your Fantasy
C1. Tha Ho In You
C2. Dollaz + Sense
C3. Let You Havit
C4. Summer Breeze
D1. Quik's Groove III
D2. Sucka Free
D3. Keep Tha "P" In It
D4. Hooray 4 Tha Funk
D5. Tanqueray



With 1995's Safe+Sound, his third album, DJ Quik scaled new levels of musical magnificence with his signature new age P-Funk/laconic G-Funk.

A quintessential, sun-scorched LA album, this is pretty much essential. Less reliant on samples and more focused on live instruments, Safe+Sound elevated Quik from producer to fully-fledged composer. This is an album of full-blown masterpieces. Rich soundscapes and masterfully arranged orchestrations with dense layers of sounds, intricate rhythms, and well-balanced songwriting.

This 2022 Be With double LP re-issue has been mastered for vinyl by Simon Francis, cut by Pete Norman and pressed at Record Industry. Unusual for the time, Safe+Sound was originally pressed as a double, so all that was missing was the CD's hidden bonus track "Tanqueray", so we've fixed that.

The original vinyl release never got a picture sleeve, so we've recreated the original's promo-style silver-sticker and plain black jacket. A subtle cover for a wonderfully unsubtle record.