ALVA NOTO | Xerrox, Vol 4


xerrox, vol 4

Label: No Label
Cat No: N0492


ambient double electronic experimental LP noise


A1. Xerrox Kirlian
A2. Xerrox Neige
A3. Xerrox Voyage
A4. Xerrox Cosmos
B1. Xerrox Plongee
B2. Xerrox Ile
B3. Xerrox Argo
C1. Xerrox Calypsoid 1
C2. Xerrox Canaux
C3. Xerrox Utopia
C4. Xerrox Sans Retour
D1. Xerrox Calypsoid 2
D2. Xerrox Apessanteur
D3. Xerrox Neant



Alva Noto returns to his much awaited Xerrox project with Vol. 4, the fourth installment of the five-piece intended series based on the concept of digital replication of source material. Using the process of copying as a basis, the Xerrox series deals with the manipulation of data by means of endless reproduction. Due to the inherent fallacy of the procedure involving the making of copies made from other copies, everyday's sounds become so altered that they can be hardly associated with the source material. As a result, entirely new sounds are created: copies of originals become originals themselves. Following Xerrox Vol. 1 (2007), Vol. 2 (2009), Vol. 3 (2015), Carsten Nicolai continues the pentalogy eluding the accuracy and precise sound design for which he's renowned, and turning to a more harmony-driven composition technique. Unlike the previous Xerrox albums, whose starting point is a set of samples extracted from external sources and fragments of recordings, Vol. 4 compounds under a unified cinematic soundscape, warm chords, thrumming digital ambiences, liquified electronics, drones, and noise sustained by floods of strings. The tension between the organic warmth and static curves, broads tones into distant roars and electronic cascade of sounds.