OCIYA | Powers Of Ten


powers of ten


A1. Powers Of Ten
A2. Ghost Moons
B1. Overview Effect
B2. Control Subsystem
C1. Hopeful Galaxy
C2. Gravity Knots
D1. Spring On Jupiter
D2. Star Scaping



As Ociya, hardware freaks Tin Man (Johannes Auvinen) and Patricia (Max Ravitz), come together in unholy acid matrimony on a definitive double-album, Powers Of Ten. We know both sides well.

Over a prolific run of records for Acid Test and his own Global A, Auvinen has expounded upon the promise of "Nonneo" (recently named one of Resident Advisor's 2010-19: Tracks Of The Decade), unearthing new, emotional vistas from the Roland TB-303. Ravitz, meanwhile, matches Tin Man in studio ethic, establishing himself as one of North America's hardware masters on records for Ghostly and Opal Tapes. What we couldn't have predicted is how well the parts merge.

Cuts like "Ghost Moons" channel the hazy IDM legacies of the past, while "Hopeful Galaxy" mixes a plaintive Rhodes motif with a hopeful 303 line for the perfect "tears on the dance floor" cut. The track titles on Power Of Ten— a perfect melodic techno LP generously spread across two records—are celestially minded ("Gravity Knots," "Star Scraping") and indeed, the cosmic metaphor is apt or the newly-formed duo.

On Powers Of Ten, Tin Man's acid lines rocket through space like brilliant, shooting stars. His signature orchestral acid moments are given the perfect backdrop, the nebula of Patricia's rich atmospherics and melodies. The album was recorded live to 2 track in Patricia's studio in New York, no edits.