POLAROID | Senza Respiro


senza respiro

Label: Dark Entries

Format: LP Domestic
Cat: DE219

darkwave electronic new wave post-punk reissue remastered


A1. Dietro Ai Vetri
A2. Occidente
A3. Alibi
A4. Charme
A5. Altri Giorni
B1. Vita Immaginaria
B2. Tutto Ciò Che Ami
B3. Jezz-Ah
B4. L'uomo Del Sogno
B5. Un'estate Inclemente I


Polaroid were an Italian post-punk/new wave band, formed in Turin in 1981. The original lineup of the band consisted of Marcello Zavatto (voice, guitar), Massimo Vagnarelli (bass, drum-machine), Evandro Fornasier (guitar), Claudio Vagnarelli (synthersizer) and Marco Farano (Drums). Polaroid made their debut with the cassette 6-track EP ‘Senza Respiro’, self-released in 1984. Influenced by Bauhaus, Joy Division, The Cure, Pere Ubu as well as Chic and Talking Heads. The music was dark and cold, but also melodic especially with regards to guitars and voices. At the end of 1984 the band added vocalist Michele Cantoblundo while drummer Marco left and was replaced by a Roland TR-909. With Michele began a period of very dark and poetic music, influenced also by bands like Red Lorry Yellow Lorry and The Sisters of Mercy. The band peacefully broke-up in 1987. This vinyl re-issue of ‘Senza Respiro’ contains all 6 original songs with 4 bonus tracks from the band’s later period. All songs have been remastered by George Horn at Fantasy Studios. The record is housed in custom jacket designed by Eloise Leigh and includes 4 polaroid sized postcards with photos notes and lyrics.